We’ve issued a statement today urging overseas vendors and people selling property abroad to be wary of companies offering to buy their properties and claiming to be associated with Rightmove’s Overseas division.
We heard from several sources that a company is contacting vendors, usually via another website they are advertising on. They imply they are commercially associated with Rightmove and tell the vendor that they represent large investors who can make an offer on the property. They explain that they already have the funds available to purchase the property outright, but the vendor must pay a security bond, typically 1% of the property value, in order to release a 10% deposit.
If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is and these schemes are nothing to do with us.
Rightmove Overseas deal directly with property advertisers and have no relationships with companies that purchase property from vendors. The only companies Rightmove do have relationships with are www.holidaylettings.co.uk who are part of the Rightmove Group and The Rightmove Abroad who are officially licensed to introduce projects meeting minimum quality standards to subscribers. Neither company would ever offer to buy property.
Scams in the overseas market have been around for a while, but what’s really disturbing in these recent cases, is that the Rightmove Overseas brand is apparently being used to imply credibility, through claims of an acquisition or partnership.
Rightmove Overseas only markets properties for sale from our advertisers. We don’t get involved in any transactions with companies offering to buy overseas properties and are categorically not engaged with, intending to acquire or looking to partner with anyone operating like this.
Rightmove Overseas urges vendors to be aware of potential scams and suggests that anyone who receives a communication from parties claiming to be affiliated with Rightmove should check that emails come from an address that ends in ‘@Rightmove.co.uk’. If consumers are in any way suspicious, they can email the Overseas team.
Buying and selling abroad isn’t risky as long as you don’t leave your common sense behind at the airport. You should only deal with reputable companies. The fast-growing Association of International Property Professionals (AIPP) was set up to help consumers avoid this kind of dubious practice and maintains a membership of companies that commit to a voluntary code of conduct.
No related posts.


Update : We’ve recently heard about another possible scam, this time involving overseas rentals, but operating in a similar fashion. The pitch is that a landlord is out of the country but has left keys and contracts with an agency in the country. They use the name Rightmove Rental Department. The prospect is asked to forward the funds in advance and then the keys will be released to them.
The real Rightmove does not have such a department and never asks for any money up front from users against rentals or sales. We’ve seen copies of emails sent to suspicious tenants from someone calling themselves Katrin Muper and using the email address muperk@hotmail.com. We’ve also seen the name Vincent Carter Duthie being used.
Our advice: if it sounds too good to be true or you are in any way suspicious or concerned about doing business with someone overseas, walk away and get independent advice before sending any money
This person/people is STILL scamming! Ive just receivd a number of emails about renting a property at JBR, Dubai for a very low price which was too good to be true! KATRIN MUPER has now sent me a MONEY GRAM document to send 5000dhs to the uk (£840) in order for me to get the keys and contract sent, HILARIOUS! Please please make sure you dont fall for this scam BEWARE, the emails they have used are… muperk@hotmail.com, munties@gmail.com also using the names VINCENT CARTER DUTHIE, rental-department@support-www.rightmove.co.uk this email doesnt exist!!!! Please if you have an experience with these jokers leave a message! Problem is beacuse theyre using moneygram its hard to trace them, believe me im gonna try
Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing.
Thank you everyone for this post. I almost got scammed by this email Support Rightmove [rental-department@support-rightmove.com]….. There was thi sguy who had an ad on local website for renting the place and asked for 5000 dhrm per month. I fell for it and had sent him money by moneygram. When i came back home, out of cruosity that y they use moneygram I checked this website and found this. Another aspect that gave me suspicion was that i sent him 3 emails asking him about his phone number but he always sent the reply of email without the fone number. I had already sent him the secret code to get the money but as soon as i found this i stopped the payment. Luckily he had not withdrawn it yet. Nest morning he had the guts to ask me to check with moneygram if there is a problem… I aske dhim to send me his mobile number and i will sms him the code. So i have managed to get his number. This is his number +447549982936 since i am in Dubai, I hope you guys in UK can catch him with this.